Tuesday, November 21, 2006

Day six: November 20—Men’s tourney wraps up

The 2006 men’s tournament is over—the University of Alabama took the title with a 63-56 win over Xavier in the final game. The Virgin Island crowds were treated to an exciting tournament from start to finish. Alabama’s Alonzo Gee was named tournament MVP. He was joined on the All-Tournament Team by teammate Ronald Steele and Xavier’s Stanley Burrell. The rest of the day’s all-stars, results and recaps are listed below:

Game #1 College of Charleston 64 MTSU 56 (7th & 8th Place)
Senior Dontaye Draper’s 31 points and sophomore Jermaine Johnson’s 12 points off the bench paced the College of Charleston men’s basketball team to a victory over MTSU in the seventh place game.

Game #2 Toledo 60 VCU 59 (4th & 6th Place)
Senior forward Florentino Valencia scored 21 points and grabbed six rebounds to hold off Virginia Commonwealth to earn the 4th spot in the consolation bracket. The two evenly matched and defensive minded teams battled until the final buzzer, VCU was led by Jesse Pellot-Rosa’s 13 points. Pellot-Rosa nailed a three-pointer with 1.7 seconds left to bring the Rams to within one, but Toledo was able to hold on for the win with late free throws.

Game #3 Villanova 89 Iowa 60 (3rd & 5th Place)
Curtis Sumpter scored 26 points and Dwayne Anderson added 18 to lead Villanova to victory over Iowa. Villanova hit seven of 10 3-point shots in the second half to seal their 3rd place finish. Adam Haluska scored 18 points for Iowa and Kurt Looby, from nearby Antigua, added 13 points and three blocked shots.

Game #4 Alabama 63 Xavier 56 (Championship)
Xavier made quite a run at the No. 10 Alabama team and was able to take a six point lead for a short time in the second half. Alabama stepped up their inside game and clamped down on defense to eventually take control of the game. Tournament MVP Alonzo Gee and fellow teammate Mykal Riley led the Tide with 13 points; Xavier’s Josh Duncan paced the Musketeers with 14 points.

1. Alabama
2. Xavier
3. Villanova
4. Toledo
5. Iowa
6. Virginia Commonwealth
7. College of Charleston
8. Middle Tennessee State

Alonzo Gee - Alabama

Justin Ingram-Toledo
Tyler Smith-Iowa
Curtis Sumpter-Villanova
Stanley Burrell-Xavier
Ronald Steele-Alabama

That’s it for the men’s side, the women’s tournament will start Thursday, November 23, jump over the women’s blog (http://www.paradisejam06women.blogspot.com) in the next day or two for updates, scores and inside scoop. Today, I will enjoy some free time da’ island. Thanks for reading, mon!

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Really enjoying the BLOG. Great event!!